Heat

1 07 2010

The weather here in Finland has not been the nicest, +15 degrees centigrade has been pretty normal. But today we had sunshine and between +25 and +27. Awesome! It was a little sweaty when I was biking at work today, but it was absolutely worth it. When I got home today I took my bikini and a book and was just chilling in the sun for a while, and later I did yoga on the lawn with my sister. Also very nice. I hope this hot spell will last! We are not used to this kind of heat here, so I had better make the most of it while it lasts.

Other than that, not much exciting stuff going on here. I went shopping yesterday and bought a tunic and matching leggings, so now I’m all set for summer events. One day more of work this week, then it’s weekend. A non-working one.

I didn’t bring my flute with me to Canada. I’ve been playing for close to 15 years now, and have never had a break. Now I had a 4 month brake, and I was a little nervous as to how that would work out. Would I be able to play again the same way I used to? Would I even want to play? I don’t even know why I left my flute in Finland in the first place, maybe I just wanted to test myself somehow. But the last month I had rented a flute, so I did play a little. But I didn’t have any sheet music, so it was mostly improvisations I was playing. It still felt great to play again after so long, like meeting an old friend. And now when I got back home and found all my old sheet music and tried to play again, I realized I still remember! My fingers still know how to do many of the songs I’ve played so many times. It felt great. It must be almost like riding a bike, you never forget how to do it. You may be a little bit insecure in the beginning, but it will get better with some practice.


Actions

Information

2 responses

4 07 2010
Danny Halpin

That’s the sweet thing about instruments…you can not play them for months but be able to pick them up and still remember how to play. My problem is I forget all the songs I know hwo to play on my guitar…I need to write myself a setlist of songs when I learn them so I remember that I know how to play them later…

Glad to see you’re getting some nice weather. We’re getting some hot days, only problem is that we’ve had so many wicked thunderstorms everything’s flooding all over the province. The other day we had hail the size of golf balls!

P.S. Points to me for navigating through the Swedish blog page and being able to find a place to post comments.

6 07 2010
moaochvarlden

Nice to hear from you, Danny!
You know I was just talking to someone about whether I should continue to write here or not, because no one had written anything back so I don’t know if people are readig or not. But then I saw that someone had commented, so I guess I should still be updating then! Hmm, but I had better do something about the language, I thought it was all in English, haha. Danny – Swedish blog 1-0.
Hope school is not too bad now that it’s summer and all! I’m looking forward to august when I have a couple weeks off, that will be sweet.

Leave a comment