Midsummer

27 06 2010

This weekend is now slowly coming to an end. Finally, I say, I have only been working when other people have been partying. Tomorrow I will have a day off, nice! I didn’t really do much on Friday, I went to a party where they had bbq, sauna, drinks and music. I only stayed for a little while, I had to get up early the next day. And yesterday evening one of my friends had an engagement party, so it was good food and sauna by the sea all over again. And again, home early to go to bed.

Midsummer has always been considered to be somewhat magical. One thing people used to do (and still do sometimes) is to go and pick seven different flowers, and during the time you do that and until you wake up next morning you are not allowed to talk to anyone. You then put the flowers under your pillow and then you are supposed to dream about the one you are going to get married to. This only works on Midsummer. My grandmother told me she has done this, so it’s a pretty old thing. I didn’t remember to do this this year, but I have done it some years ago. I didn’t dream about anyone then, I think, so maybe I won’t get married at all, haha..

Next week I don’t have much planned. Some zumba and orienteering of course, and hopefully seeing some people I haven’t had time to visit yet. And next weekend I think I’m going to Helsinki.

Hope you are all well!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment