Wedding day

18 07 2010

Again some time has gone by since I had something to write. These last weeks have been pretty boring, but I have still done some fun things as well. I have been to my friends’ summerhouses a couple of time, once we went to one summerhouse by boat. It took us 1.5 hours to get there and the weather was awesome, so that was a blast. Last Thursday I participated in my first orienteering competition for this summer. I did not do very well, but I was pretty tired that day because I had been at work before I competed. I have many more excuses too if that one is not good enough..

Yesterday my cousin got married so my whole family was at the wedding all day. I don’t know if Finnish weddings are very different from Canadian weddings, so I’ll tell you about what a Finnish one can be like. The couple was wed in church, the ceremony was maybe a half hour long. The priest said some words, the bride’s sister sang a song and everyone sang a wedding hymn. There were two bridesmaids and a bestman. The bridal march was composed by a Finnish composer, Toivo Kuula. I tried to find it on youtube, but I could only find a version with strings instead of organ, so I guess it will have to do. Here is the link if you want to listen to it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCNLXeyHt9Q&feature=related

The reception party was held at some sort of small theatre. The guests sat at long tables and the bride and groom had their own table on stage. We had dinner, dessert and a weddingcake. There was some program as well, for instance, at one point the bride was kidnapped and the groom had to come up with 17 words (because it was the 17th yesterday) to describe the bride to get her back. After the dinner there was a band and we danced. It was a nice wedding, but a little too hot right now to be wearing suits and dresses.. I was pretty sweaty before the night was over.

Me and my sister getting ready for the wedding

At the wedding ceremony


Actions

Information

Leave a comment